Our Team

Our Team

From Social Justice to Social Impact

It takes a team of experienced and motivated professionals with a belief in our mission to enlighten each generation about civil and human rights by exploring our common past and working together in the present to building a better future.

DeJuana Thompson
President & CEO
dthompson@bcri.org

Carol Wells
Vice President of Finance & Operations
cwells@bcri.org

Valeria Riley
Accounting Supervisor
vriley@bcri.org

Carrie Patterson
Office Manager
cpatterson@bcri.org

Wayne Coleman
Head of Archives
wcoleman@bcri.org

Michael Holland
Information Systems Administrator
mholland@bcri.org

Marshay Webb
Operations Manager
mwebb@bcri.org

Dr. Samantha Elliott Briggs
Vice President of Education
sbriggs@bcri.org

Charles Woods, III
Education Director & Trainer
cwoods@bcri.org

Gina Mallisham
Marketing Manager
gmallisham@bcri.org

Dr. Kimberly Brown-Pellum
Curator in Residency
kpellum@bcri.org

Katina Smith
Executive Assistant to the President
ksmith@bcriorg

LeRoy Simmons
Safety Manager
lsimmons@bcri.org

Jaquese Brewster
Accounting Assistant
jbrewster@bcri.org

Michelle Craig
Youth Development Specialist
mcraig@bcri.org

Barry McNealy
Historical Content Expert
bmcnealy@bcri.org

Latoya Pickens
Ticket Booth Assistant
lpickens@bcri.org

Chad Smith
Gift Store Associate
csmith@bcri.org

Yvette Chatman
Gift Store Associate
ychatman@bcri.org

BCRI Historical Content Expert, Barry McNealy, hosts a tour of our historic galleries. A 28-year educator at Parker High School, he's been telling the Birmingham Civil Rights Story for nearly three decades.

Birmingham Civil Rights Institute

520 16th St N,
Birmingham, AL 35203

Tour & Gift Store Hours
Sunday & Monday: Closed
Tuesday to Saturday: 10am - 3pm CST

Note: Last admission at 2:00 pm.